Fantasy Pieces for Clarinet and Piano, Op. 73 - Schumann

  • Sale
  • Regular price $22.00

Arranged by: Issay Barmas

Fantasiestücke for clarinet and piano, Op. 73, were written in 1849 by Robert Schumann. Though they were originally intended for clarinet and piano, Schumann indicated that the clarinet part could be also performed on viola or cello.

The three individual pieces are:

  1. Zart und mit Ausdruck (Tender and with expression)
  2. Lebhaft, leicht (Lively, light)
  3. Rasch und mit Feuer (Quick and with fire)

The first piece is in A Minor and begins dreamily with hints of melancholy, but concludes with a resolution and hope in A Major, looking forward to the next movement.

The second piece is in A major and is playful, upbeat, energetic and positive, with a central section modulating to F MAjor with chromatic triplets in dialogue with the piano.

The final piece is again in A major. The pace suddenly drives into a frenzy of passion and fiery energy, bordering on the irrational. The movement pushes the players to their limits as Schumann writes "schneller und schneller" (faster and faster). The movement ends exuberantly with a triumphant close.